Ford Car Engine. Fiesta, Escort, Zetec, galaxy, focus

Published by Carl Wilson on

Ford car engines are well known throughout the world, you can get their engines used, reconditioned or secondhand at

Ford was late to offer a six-cylinder engine in their cars, only introducing a six in 1941 after the failure of the 1906 Model K. The company relied on its famous Flathead V8 for most models, only seriously producing six-cylinder engines in the 1960s. The company was also late with a V6 engine, introducing a compact British V6 in 1967 but waiting until the 1980s to move their products to rely on V6 engines. The company has relied on four major V6 families ever since, the Cologne / Taunus V6, Canadian Essex V6, Vulcan V6, and DOHC Duratec V6. But three of these lines are scheduled to end production within this decade, leaving only the Duratec and related Cyclone V6 as the company’s midrange engine. Make great saving on our Vauxhall Engine range too.

Find Ford Engines
Find Ford Gearboxes

8 Cylinder Engines. Ford introduced the Flathead V8 in their affordable 1932 Model B, becoming a performance leader for decades. In the 1950s, Ford introduced a three-tier approach to engines, with small, mid-sized, and big block engines aimed at different markets. All of Ford’s mainstream V8 engines were replaced by the overhead cam modular family in the 1990s, but the company is expected to introduce a new larger family, the Bos s/ Hurricane, by the end of the decade. Such are Cosworth DFV — DOHC 3.0 liter racing engine, 1921–1931 Lincoln Liberty, 1997– Triton V8, 1983– Ford / Navistar Diesel V8.

Find quality information on Ford Engine Models:

Ford Cortina Engine
Ford Escort Engine
Ford Focus Engine
Ford KA Engine
Ford Capri Engine
Ford C Max Engine
Ford S Max Engine
Ford Fiesta Engine
Ford Bronco Engine

10 Cylinder Engines. The smallest Triton was the 4.6 L (4605 cc/281 in³) V8, based on the 90° Ford Modular engine design. Bore of the iron block is 3.55 in and stroke is 3.54 in. This engine is available with either a cast iron or aluminum block, but both use aluminum heads. All 4.6 L Tritons are either 2-valve SOHC or, with the introduction of the 2006 Ford Explorer, 3-valve SOHC designs. The two Triton lines are the cast iron units used in the Ford F-Series, Expedition, and Econoline and the aluminum block versions used in the Ford Explorer and Mercury Mountaineer. The 2-valve SOHC version in the 2001 and later model years produces 231 hp (173 kW) at 4750 rpm and 293 ft·lbf (397 Nm) of torque at 3450 rpm.

The 3-valve SOHC version produces 292 hp (218 kW) at 5750 rpm and 300 ft·lbf (407 Nm) of torque at 3250 rpm. Both use multi-port fuel injection, roller rockers, fracture-split forged powder metal connecting rods, and an assembled reinforced plastic intake manifold.

12 Cylinder Engines. This motor was designed for large truck service. When Lincoln could not produce the V12 engine it wanted for the 1949 model year, the 337 motor was adapted for passenger car use. The 337 features a 3.5 in (88.9 mm) bore and a 4.375 in (111.1 mm) stroke. There other versions of the 12V were 221239136 & 255.

Today there are many Ford models with reconditioned engines and used from above, Ford Focus built in Argentina, Ford Fiesta and Ford EcoSport built in Brazil, Zetec, Fiesta, Mondeo, Coupé-Cabriolet, Galaxy, Fusion and more.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]
Categories: ArticlesFord

Carl Wilson

You won't believe it, I'm native Scotsman. Enthusiast. Car lovers. Almost finished rebuilding my Reliant Saber 🔥


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *